ME/CFS International Awareness Day

14 May, 2008

I’ve added a button to the sidebar that highlights ME/CFS Awareness day (it was a couple of days ago – I’m a bit behind schedule). The goal of the day is to raise awareness of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. CFS is not a yuppy flu, it is not being chronically tired and no amount of willpower, being more positive or trying harder makes it go away.

My partner suffers from this condition so it is very close to me, she is confined to our house and confined to bed for 23 hours of the day. The hardest thing sufferers battle is the perception that if they just tried a little more or were a little more positive they would be better. The problem with this attitude is if they do try a little harder (and they do let me assure you!) they pay for it and end up even sicker than they started.

Please click on the CFS awareness day button and read some of the accounts of living with CFS. Having an understanding of how hard the condition is to live with, will make a world of difference to those suffering from it.

9 Responses to “ME/CFS International Awareness Day”

  1. Cusp Says:

    Hi Mick. Thanks for dropping by my blog. You have a pretty interesting blog yourself. Before I became ill I was a Community Develpoemt Worker and just beginning to move into the e-learning area (7 years ago —still in its infancy in terms of delivery)

    Sorry to hear your partner is so poorl. Hopefully she will gradually see some improvement so she can at least get up a little longer and carve out some sort of different/new life.

    Had to look up ‘Gen Y’ Wish I hadn’t now —- if you’re Gen Y I MUST be X or even V ! ;0))


  2. Hi Mick. Hope it’s ok that I’ve added your blog entry to our list.

    I second what Cusp says about your partner and hope things will become easier for her. It’s a terribly isolating and frustrating illness to deal with!

    Thanks for linking to the Blogging for ME/CFS Awareness list :o)


  3. […] Mick: From the Tram – ME/CFS International Awareness Day […]

  4. micktl Says:

    Cusp and Rachel – Thanks both of you for stopping by and for your kind thoughts, I’ll make sure I send the link to Ros. I just wish I had of got around to putting this post up on the actual day! πŸ™‚

    Cusp – I’m sorry to hear you had to move out of work so long ago, I know that sucks a lot!

    The e-Learning world is a very interesting place, although I really get excited about using tools like blogs and wikis to support learning. I reckon traditional e-Learning, where you click on back and next buttons and maybe listen to a voice over is horribly boring (I want to be talking… or typing to someone). Getting online and sharing experience just as we are is an incredibly powerful tool!

    Gen Y is a buzz word I don’t like, it seems to suggest that I think I should be the CEO on my second day in a job. I’m much more reasonable than that… I’ll wait till my fourth day!! πŸ˜‰

    Thanks again both of you for stopping by.
    mick


  5. […] Mick: From the Tram – ME/CFS International Awareness Day […]


  6. […] Mick: From the Tram – ME/CFS International Awareness Day […]


  7. It would be great to see you blogging for ME/CFS Awareness again in May 2010.

    Remember to sign up to the list at http://meaware.wordpress.com so we can collate a list of those who are blogging for ME/CFS Awareness this year.

    Thanks

    Rachel


Leave a Reply

