Bamboo Project – Blogging4Learning challenge!

6 February, 2008

Ok I am officially terrified! I’ve been doing this for three months and have had a grand total 7 hits. Yesterday after posting my big question answer and deciding to take on Michelle’s challenge I had 25 in a night! I know that is nothing in the scheme of things but for me its huge and scary!

Presenting to 100 people does not bother me much at all, I know I am a good presenter and in the room I feel in control. Having a bunch of people from all over the world reading my writing is a whole different ball game, I’m heading into uncharted waters (that said I am assuming that a whole bunch of people would actually be interested in what I have to say!!). This is the reason I thought this was a good challenge to take, I have been quite comfortable blogging away with nobody reading my posts, the problem with that approach is, I have been missing the key feature of blogging that makes it such a powerful learning tool! Now the time for action as arrived; I am going to jump out of my comfort zone and interact. You don’t learn much if you don’t push yourself.

I said in my comment on The Bamboo Project that I would like to use blogging to learn about using social networking in a corporate learning context. I’m pretty sure I don’t have the time to work through 18 different types of posts in a month, but I’ll attempt as many as possible.

The main focus of the next few weeks will be on my team’s experiments with using Facebook as a knowledge sharing platform. I will discuss some other potential social networking tools we can implement in our training materials and discuss possible challenges and solutions. Finally I’ll spend some time having a look at what everyone else out there is saying at the moment.

This should definitely prove to be an interesting experience. I get the feeling that by the end of the month I will know if this blog is going to stand the test of time or not.

Tomorrow I’m going to get started with a case study of my team’s Facebook use 1 month after kicking off.

Wish me luck!

One Response to “Bamboo Project – Blogging4Learning challenge!”


  1. This sounds like a great topic, Mick, and one that a lot of people will be interested in. I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with!


Leave a Reply

