10 things for ’10 part2

19 January, 2010

The other day I kicked off my 10 things for ’10 learning list. The idea is to give myself a learning task list,  otherwise I just spend all of my time reading about football and formula1! I listed my first 5 items the other day, now on to the rest of the list.

The secret sauce of collaboration

Ok, I know there is no such thing. Fostering collaboration is what my job is all about. So reading what lots of smart people have to say about collaboration seems like a good idea. I have a general idea about this, my experience says find areas of common interest and common need and point people in the right direction… although it rarely works out like that. I’d probably like to develop a clearer framework for thinking about fostering organic collaboration and encouraging people who should collaborate but don’t know how.

Learning about learning

This one is another long termer. In part it is about revisiting a lot of the stuff I studied at uni, but also about diving deeper. I did my degree full time, while working full time, as you can imagine this load only allowed me to dive to a certain depth (think the toddler’s pool). This year I’d like to make it into the big pool, even if I only stay in the shallow end.

How to write

I used to love to write, so much so in my year 12 English assessments at high school I managed 2 A+’s and an A (I missed out on the plus by a couple of points and am still irritated by it!!). Back then I loved to write, but now I seem to find it more of a burden. I’m happy to write conversational stuff like this, as it is just guff that flows out of my brain, but I want to put a bit more effort into the process of writing to see if I can come up with some things that are more substantial.

GTD

I love getting things done. I hate it when I look back on a week and think ‘what did I do this week?’ While in reality I probably did quite a bit, it often doesn’t feel like it.  There are a bazzilion (this is accurate, I have counted them) GTD tools, systems and processes out there, over the years I have tried a few with varying levels of success. This makes it to the list to I can see if I can find ways to improve what I do and quiet that ‘you’ve not done enough this week’ voice.

Latte` Art

This is potentially very sad, but I think our Espresso machine is about my most favourite possession!  I’ve been working at home a lot over the past 6 months or so, it has it’s pros and cons, but without a doubt the best pro is I get ot make my coffee every morning!! I have got to the point where with it I reckon I can make a pretty mean latte` (I’m sure if you gave me one of those commercial jobs I would fail miserably!), but  I have never managed to make latte` art work. It makes it on to the list.

So there we have it, my #10thingsfor10 learning list. Over the next year or so I’ll blog about each of the topics and how I am going. Hopefully this will prove to be a fruitful experiance.

One Response to “10 things for ’10 part2”

  1. Marko Teräs Says:

    Lately I also read the GTD and the newer Making it All Work. I’ve also read dozens of other books from this area of self-help/time management and have to say that Steve Allen has many good points in his books.

    What I really like about them is that the books take the possible changes in your schedule so well. I know that I’d be screwed if I just did my to-do list and didn’t change my course accordingly.

    I totally agree with the fact that you should have goals, of many different levels, in order you to direct your ship towards a direction that is right for you.

    I’ve seen many times when people just carry out the basic tasks without ever stopping to think “why am I doing this and what’s in it for me in the larger scale?”

    Nice post Mick! I hope you get better with your latte skills too. ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

